Robbie Farr Too Good in Sid Hopper Shootout

Saturday, November 24, 2018
Robbie Farr took the Sid Hopper Shootout Saturday at Sydney's Valvoline RacewayRobbie Farr took the Sid Hopper Shootout Saturday at Sydney's Valvoline Raceway (SANSW Media) Robbie Farr secured his first win of the season at Valvoline Raceway on Saturday night, leading all 30 laps and taking out the fifth annual Sid Hopping Shootout which pays homage to the man who built Parramatta City Raceway - now Valvoline Raceway.

Farr started on pole after what was a pretty faultless evening, going second quick in his flight and winning his heat which set him up for the pole shuffle, guaranteeing himself a front row start in the 30 lap final. From there, Farr led the entire race distance to record his 46th win at the venue.

Coming home in second place was Troy Little who, like Farr, had a great night in what was his final meeting before jetting off to New Zealand to race. Little shadowed Farr for the entire race and did a great job to record his first podium finish of the season.

Completing the podium was Central Coast-based racer Alex Orr and in doing so, recorded his career-best finish in a Sprintcar at Valvoline Raceway. Orr was on the pace from the outset and despite not being able to advance from his third place, it was a massive confidence boost as the entire team head into the busy portion of the season.

Completing the top five was Matt Dumesny and Jessie Attard. In what was an entertaining race between the two young combatants, the result was in the balance until almost the drop of the chequered flag. For both drivers, it was vital points scored in the USC NSW point score.

Jordyn Brazier, Sam Walsh, Marcus Dumesny, Jackson Delamont and Warren Ferguson completed the top ten. It was an impressive return to the track for Marcus Dumesny after his big crash a fortnight earlier and for Ferguson, he was once again one of the big movers coming from position 13 in the B-Main.

Just outside the top-10 saw Danny Reidy, Grant Anderson, Ben Atkinson and Max Johnston who came from the second last row of the C-Main to finish 14th in the feature race which was another outstanding effort.

Completing the remaining finishers was Kiwi Dean Brindle, Jeremy Cross, Andrew Wright, James Duckworth, Matt Geering and Damien Hart. Non-finishers were Daniel Cassidy, Daniel Sayre, Garry Brazier and Luke Stirton who flipped wildly on the opening lap. Thankfully he emerged A-OK.

Earlier in the night it was Troy Little (Flight one) and Garry Brazier (Flight two) who set quick time. Heat race wins went to Little, Orr, Dumesny and Farr.

The C-Main was won by Peter Bourke and Geering won the B-Main.

The season is now starting to ramp up for the SANSW with next week seeing the final Development Sprintcar event being run followed by the George Tatnell Challenge/Ultimate Pink Night on December 8 and the 39th running of the Australian Sprintcar Grand Prix on Boxing Night.

A main Results:

1. Robbie Farr Q7
2. Troy Little N20
3. Alex Orr. N43
4. Matthew Dumesny N57
5. Jessie Attard N53
6. Jordyn Brazier NS21
7. Sam Walsh N92
8. Marcus Dumesny N47
9. Jackson Delamont N48
10. Warren Ferguson N32
11. Danny Reidy NQ5
12. Grant Anderson V37
13. Ben Atkinson D2
14. Max Johnston NS4
15. Dean Brindle NZ22
16. Jeremy Cross N39
17. Andrew Wright N78
18. James Duckworth N68
19. Matthew Geering NS6
20. Damien Hart NS75
21. Daniel Cassidy NS15
22. Daniel Sayre N16
23. Garry Brazier N21
24. Luke Stirton N10