Eagle Raceway Results and Stories

Saturday, August 3, 2019
By Greg Soukup

High Bank Showdown, presented by Rotella’s Italian Bakery saw a good crowd enjoying the racing action under partly overcast skies with a nice breeze and low 80’s temperatures. That action was fierce all evening with a minimum of two racing lanes all the way through to the last lap.

Doug Lovegrove took advantage of starting on the pole of the Racesaver IMCA Sprint Car A Feature to put the #1 out front of the first lap with Brandon Horton’s 1B, the 20 of Tim Hilfiker and Mike Boston’s 51 close behind. Chase Weiler leaped up to third on lap 2 in his 0 sprint with Boston remaining in fourth. Boston passed Weiler on lap 7 for third with Adam Gullion moving up to fourth in the 91JV. From there to the finish it was a tale of 2 different lines with Lovegrove hugging the bottom and Horton, Boston and Gullion pounding the cushion. Lovegrove moved through the lapped traffic and extended his lead at the end to a straightaway with Horton coming home second, Boston third and Gullion fourth.

This marked win #1 in 2019 for Lovegrove. He said “It’s been way too long!! We’ve been having motor problems all year; this is only the third race I’ve finished this season! We’ve been out here a lot, but we’ve been through 4 camshafts we’ve turned. This was the end of it! If this motor didn’t live, we were done for the year, but it’s running great!! It was a good track to get out front tonight. I’m pretty good around the bottom, and it was a good track tonight. I think that’s why I was able to run away a little bit. I got lucky on some of the traffic. The guys decided to run a lane up when I got to them. I had to move a couple of guys, but not too bad. I apologized to them already and they didn’t seem too mad. I’ll take it. I want to give a big thank you to Kevin Beasley for all the work he’s putting in now. My crew chief moved away so he’s usually not here”. Lovegrove’s sponsors include Precise Racing Products, Trackside Bar and Grill and Quick Dump Refuse.

Next weekend is Junior Fan Club Pajama Jam, presented by Colby Ridge. There will be free admission for all children 12 and under and free kids car rides at intermission. Kids who are wearing pajamas will qualify for prizes!!

Sprints, Hoosier Tire IMCA Modifieds, Sam’s Club IMCA Sport Modifieds, Valentino’s IMCA Hobby Stocks and ATV Motorsports IMCA Sport Compacts.

Front gates open at 5:15 with hot laps at 5:30 and racing at 6:30. Grandstand admission is $10 for adults.

Pit gates open at 4:00 with pit passes being $25.


IMCA Sprint A-Feature 1. Doug Lovegrove Waverly, Ne. 2. Brandon Horton Waterloo, Ne. 3. Mike Boston Lincoln, Ne. 4. Adam Gullion Lincoln, Ne. 5. Chase Weiler Lincoln, Ne. 6. Nathan Weiler Lavista, Ne. 7. Chad Koch Lincoln, Ne. 8. Josh Riggins Lincoln, Ne. 9. Clint Benson Papillion, Ne. 10. Jason Danley Lincoln, Ne. 11. Keith Dragoo Greenwood, Ne. 12. Trevor Grossenbacher Bennet, Ne. 13. Stuart Snyder Lincoln, Ne. 14. Dan Satriano Omaha, Ne. 15. Ryan King Bennet, Ne. 16. Tim Hilfiker Greenwood, Ne. 17. Gene Ackland Martell, Ne. 18. Mark Vanderheiden Papillion, Ne. 19. Nick Bryan Lincoln, Ne. 20. Rich Cerveny Omaha, Ne.

IMCA Sprint B-Feature 1. Dan Satriano Omaha, Ne. 2. Gene Ackland Martell, Ne. 3. Mark Vanderheiden Papillion, Ne. 4. Nick Bryan Lincoln, Ne. 5. Rich Cerveny Omaha, Ne. 6. Andrew Jackson Fremont, Ne. 7. Jason Miller Omaha, Ne. 8. Ryan Navratil East Des Moines, Ia.

IMCA Sprint Heat 1 1. Stuart Snyder Lincoln, Ne. 2. Doug Lovegrove Waverly, Ne. 3. Nathan Weiler Lavista, Ne. 4. Mike Boston Lincoln, Ne. 5. Chad Koch Lincoln, Ne. 6. Dan Satriano Omaha, Ne. 7. Andrew Jackson Fremont, Ne. 8. Jason Miller Omaha, Ne.

IMCA Sprint Heat 2 1. Brandon Horton Waterloo, Ne. 2. Adam Gullion Lincoln, Ne. 3. Trevor Grossenbacher Bennet, Ne. 4. Chase Weiler Lincoln, Ne. 5. Keith Dragoo Greenwood, Ne. 6. Gene Ackland Martell, Ne. 7. Nick Bryan Lincoln, Ne. 8. Ryan Navratil East Des Moines, Ia.

IMCA Sprint Heat 3 1. Josh Riggins Lincoln, Ne. 2. Ryan King Bennet, Ne. 3. Clint Benson Papillion, Ne. 4. Tim Hilfiker Greenwood, Ne. 5. Jason Danley Lincoln, Ne. 6. Mark Vanderheiden Papillion, Ne. 7. Rich Cerveny Omaha, Ne.