Cory Eliason Wins on Motorplex Debut

Friday, February 21, 2020
Cory Eliason won Friday's WSS prelim in Perth (Perth Motorplex Photo) (Video from
Cory Eliason won Friday's WSS prelim in Perth (Perth Motorplex Photo) (Video from
California’s Corey Eliason has claimed his first QSS World Series Sprintcars main event win on his debut at the Perth Motorplex.

Still struggling with jetlag after flying in a day earlier, the 27-year-old from Kingsburg had barely taken a glance at the venue before claiming Revolution Racegear QuickTime , and set about on a campaign to play “the spoiler” in the championship battle between Kerry Madsen and James McFadden who qualified third and seventh respectively.

Eliason struggled during the heat races in the Diamond Bay Motorsport #26, however Madsen and McFadden both gained multiple positions to be the highest point scorers prior to the shootout.

Tasmanian teenager Jock Goodyer had different plans however and drew on the experience from two weeks earlier where he won on his debut at the Motorplex to advance from the bronze shootout right through to claim pole position from the gold shootout, starting alongside McFadden who was able to hold his front row position while Madsen was relegated to position four.

McFadden claimed the lead instantly in the main event and looked in control before Glen Sutherland exited the race from an incident in turn three.

On the restart, McFadden hosted a three-way battle for the lead as Eliason leapfrogged Madsen to take over 2nd and polesitter Goodyer quickly fell back as far as 9th in the first five laps, slipping back into the clutches of Brooke Tatnell who’d started out of 9th.

The battle between Tatnell and Goodyer ended abruptly however when the two came into contact on lap eleven, sending Tatnell into the turn three fence and out of the event.

Despite the abundance of passing throughout the field, the track began to take rubber and it soon became evident that tyre conservation would become a major factor in the outcome.

Meanwhile, Eliason kept within striking distance of McFadden and while the series leader battled traffic, the Californian pounced on lap twenty-two to claim the lead as Madsen wrestled with Dave Murcott who’d climbed from 9th to 4th.

Numerous cars retired early for various reasons over the next eight laps, however a twist in the script was introduced with just five laps remaining as Ryan Lancaster brought on the caution lights and the stewards had tallied that the field had completed over seventy combined laps under racing and caution, leading to a decision to halt the race for a fuel-only pitstop.

While teams scurried to pour minimal fuel into the cars to get them home, the stoppage also revealed the state of the field’s tyres, with many showing wear down to the canvas, and sending teams into overdrive to find a strategy to complete the race.

As predicted, on the restart Eliason spread-eagled the field and was unstoppable with McFadden and Madsen unable to reach him, however a series of blown tyres ended the race for notables such as Murcott, Jason Kendrick and Jock Goodyer before Eliason claimed the chequers to finally add a World Series win to his seven previous podiums.

“We got kind of fortunate that the lapped car held James up and I was close enough to take advantage of it, but I’ve finally got the World Series win that’s been eluding me for three years now,” the elated Eliason said in victory lane.

“What I think helped me was that at the initial start, I found the middle in three and four first before everyone else did and then we had that fuel stop which I wasn’t too impressed about but it kind of worked out. I was just thinking that my tyres were going flat and there’s no way, but at first I thought it was thirty laps and then I realised it was thirty five so I was just praying we’d have the tyres to make it.”

McFadden’s runner up finish over Madsen in third gives him a 42-point buffer going into tonight’s series Grand Final, with a total of 366 points on offer for a clean sweep of the event.
Photo courtesy of Richard Hathaway Photography


1  W17  James McFadden               3554
2  W2  Kerry Madsen    3512
3  V55  Brooke Tatnell    2867
4  T22  Jock Goodyer    2828
5  W5  Lucas Wolfe    2812
6  W60  Brock Hallett    2619
7  V88  Dave Murcott    2596
8  V40  Rusty Hickman    2566
9  W14  Jason Pryde     1998
10  W26  Cory Eliason    1889

World Series Sprintcars / Maddington Toyota Sprintcar Series
Perth Motorplex
Kwinana Beach, WA
Friday February 21, 2020


1. USA26-Cory Eliason, 13.753
2. V88-David Murcott, 13.797
3. W2-Kerry Madsen, 13.805
4. T22-Jock Goodyer, 13.852
5. W8-Andrew Priolo, 13.923
6. USA1J-Lynton Jeffrey, 13.934
7. W17-James McFadden, 13.965
8. S60-Brock Hallett, 14.032
9. W12-Daniel Harding, 14.033
10. W77-Bradley Maiolo, 14.054
11. W11-Jason Kendrick, 14.070
12. W80-James Inglis, 14.086
13. V55-Brooke Tatnell, 14.134
14. V40-Rusty Hickman, 14.160
15. W42-Ben Butcher, 14.179
16. W20-Ryan Lancaster, 14.245
17. W97-Mitchell Wormall, 14.252
18. W51-Jamie Oldfield, 14.266
19. 5W-Lucas Wolfe, 14.284
20. W75-Ben Van Ryt, 14.326
21. W53-Ben Ellement, 14.345
22. W3-Callum Williamson, 14.447
23. S20-Glen Sutherland, 14.467
24. W14-Jason Pryde, 14.603
25. W21-Troy Lawson, 14.637
26. W9-AJ Nash, 14.647
27. W79-Kris Coyle, 14.689
28. W83-Daniel Hartigan, 14.754
29. W88-Adrian Haywood, 14.857
30. W25-Taylor Milling, NT
31. W94-Matthew Cross, NT
32. W50-Tom Callaghan, NT

Heat Race #1

1. W25-Taylor Milling
2. W17-James McFadden
3. V55-Brooke Tatnell
4. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
5. USA1J-Lynton Jeffrey
6. USA26-Cory Eliason
7. W80-James Inglis
8. W14-Jason Pryde
9. W21-Troy Lawson
DNS: W51-Jamie Oldfield
DNS: W94-Matthew Cross

Heat Race #2:

1. W75-Ben Van Ryt
2. V40-Rusty Hickman
3. W9-AJ Nash
4. S20-Glen Sutherland
5. V88-David Murcott
6. W97-Mitchell Wormall
7. W8-Andrew Priolo
8. S60-Brock Hallett
9. W88-Adrian Haywood
10. W11-Jason Kendrick
DNS: W50-Tom Callaghan

Heat Race #3:

1. W3-Callum Williamson
2. W83-Daniel Hartigan
3. W20-Ryan Lancaster
4. W42-Ben Butcher
5. W2-Kerry Madsen
6. W12-Daniel Harding
7. W53-Ben Ellement
8. T22-Jock Goodyer
9. W77-Bradley Maiolo
10. W79-Kris Coyle

Heat Race #4:

1. W53-Ben Ellement
2. W80-James Inglis
3. W97-Mitchell Wormall
4. W14-Jason Pryde
5. W8-Andrew Priolo
6. T22-Jock Goodyer
7. USA26-Cory Eliason
8. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
9. W77-Bradley Maiolo
DNS: W50-Tom Callaghan
DNS: W94-Matthew Cross

Heat Race #5:

1. W3-Callum Williamson
2. W9-AJ Nash
3. V55-Brooke Tatnell
4. W11-Jason Kendrick
5. W79-Kris Coyle
6. W12-Daniel Harding
7. W42-Ben Butcher
8. USA1J-Lynton Jeffrey
9. V88-David Murcott
10. W21-Troy Lawson
DNS: W51-Jamie Oldfield

Heat Race #6:

1. V40-Rusty Hickman
2. W2-Kerry Madsen
3. W17-James McFadden
4. S20-Glen Sutherland
5. W20-Ryan Lancaster
6. W75-Ben Van Ryt
7. W83-Daniel Hartigan
8. S60-Brock Hallett
9. W25-Taylor Milling
10. W88-Adrian Haywood


1. W77-Bradley Maiolo
2. W21-Troy Lawson
3. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
4. S20-Glen Sutherland
5. W14-Jason Pryde
6. W25-Taylor Milling
7. W50-Tom Callaghan
8. W79-Kris Coyle
9. W88-Adrian Haywood
10. W83-Daniel Hartigan
DNS: W51-Jamie Oldfield
DNS: W94-Matthew Cross


1. USA26-Cory Eliason
2. W17-James McFadden
3. W2-Kerry Madsen
4. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
5. S60-Brock Hallett
6. W75-Ben Van Ryt
7. USA1J-Lynton Jeffrey
8. W53-Ben Ellement
9. W8-Andrew Priolo
10. W9-AJ Nash
11. W97-Mitchell Wormall
12. W42-Ben Butcher
13. V40-Rusty Hickman
14. T22-Jock Goodyer
15. V88-David Murcott
16. W11-Jason Kendrick
17. W80-James Inglis
18. W20-Ryan Lancaster
19. W12-Daniel Harding
20. V55-Brooke Tatnell
21. W77-Bradley Maiolo
22. W21-Troy Lawson
23. S20-Glen Sutherland
DQ: W3-Callum Williamson