Brock Hallett Takes Midweek $10,000 President's Cup

Wednesday, January 24, 2024
Brock Hallett banked $10,000 at Avalon Wednesday (SpeedCafe Photo)Brock Hallett banked $10,000 at Avalon Wednesday (SpeedCafe Photo) by

Brock Hallett banked $10,000 at Avalon on Wednesday night. Image: SuppliedHallett proved the dominant car across the night to collect the $10,000 winners prize, leading home veterans Grant Anderson and Jamie Veal who completed the podium.

Second generation racer Marcus Dumesny was fourth ahead of reigning Australian Sprintcar champion Jock Goodyer, who drove through the field after starting at the back, only qualifying through the B-main.

It's the first Presidents Cup success for Hallett, the 2023 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic champion, who finished second behind American Aaron Reutzel in the 2024 Classic last Sunday.

He now heads for Warrnambool's Premier Speedway for the National Title on Friday brimming with confidence.

“This is a great result for the team who have been working so hard over the past couple of weeks, it's nice to reward them,” Hallett said.

“It was so slick out there and it was just difficult to know what lane to take on the restarts so I'm glad we were able to hold on for the win.

“I'm thankful for Avalon for rescheduling tonight after the washout last week, and gives us a nice lead in for this weekend.”

The hard luck story of the night belonged to rising Queensland racer Ryan Newton.

The polesitter led the opening laps of the feature only to have a muffler dislodge, ending his night.

The Presidents Cup was rescheduled after being washed out last Wednesday night.

The festival of Sprintcar racing – with seven nights of racing across 10 days – now returns to Warrnambool for the two day Australian Championships beginning on Australia Day Friday.

President’s Cup
Avalon Raceway
Lara, Victoria
Wednesday, January 24, 2024
1. Q5-Brock Hallett
2. V37-Grant Anderson
3. V35-Jamie Veal
4. N47-Marcus Dumesny
5. A1-Jock Goodyer
6. W2-Kerry Madsen
7. T62-Tate Frost
8. W60-Kaidan Manders
9. V72-Jacob Smith
10. V60-Jordyn Charge
11. N92-Sam Walsh
12. W26-James Ingelis
13. W8-Andrew Priolo
14. V68-Brett Milburn
15. N48-Jackson Delamont
16. T45-Chad Gardner
17. VA75-David Donegan
18. V27-Ross Jarred
19. T7-Tim Hutchins
20. Q66-Ryan Newton