Hagerstown PA Sprint Speedweek Results and Stories

Thursday, July 4, 2024

Hagerstown Speedway
Hagerstown, MD

PA Sprint Speedweek

31 cars

Heavy rains around 4:30 p.m. brought heavy conditions and a fast track.

Justin Whittall (11th car out to time) set quick time on the 4/10-mile oval at 15.247 seconds. Chad Trout (1st car out) was second quick, followed by Lance Dewease (2nd), Kody Hartlaub (8th), Danny Dietrich (7th), TJ Stutts (3rd), Anthony Macri (25th), Tim Wagaman Jr. (29th), Logan Schuchart (31st) and Mike Wagner (27th).

Heat one (started) (8 Laps): 1. 39-Kody Hartlaub[1]; 2. 39M-Anthony Macri[2]; 3. 67-Justin Whittall[4]; 4. 8-Freddie Rahmer[5]; 5. 55-Mike Wagner[3]; 6. 27S-Robbie Kendall[7] / 7. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[6]; 8. 53-Jessie Attard[8]; 9. 17-Dylan Norris[9]; 10. 67L-Jason Loss[10]; 11. 77K-Steven Kisamore[11)

8-lap heats took the top six to the A main. The heat winners and the fastest qualifiers (starting fourth) were in the feature redraw for the first three rows. This one went single-file after Hartlaub wrestled the lead from Macri on the start.

Heat two (started) (8 Laps): 1. 27-Troy Wagaman Jr[2]; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich[1]; 3. 1X-Chad Trout[4]; 4. 1A-Jacob Allen[3]; 5. 23-Devon Borden[5]; 6. 8D-Billy Dietrich[6] / 7. 77-Michael Walter[8]; 8. 33H-Derek Hauck[7]; 9. 22M-Matt Miller[9]; DNS - 17K-Kyle Keen

Another mostly single-file affair on a heavy track.

Heat three (started) (8 Laps): 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart[2]; 2. 11-TJ Stutts[1]; 3. 12-Lance Dewease[4]; 4. 75-Cameron Smith[3]; 5. 91-Kyle Reinhardt[6]; 6. 99-Skylar Gee[5] / 7. 6-Ryan Smith[7]; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison[9]; 9. 90-Jordan Givler[8]; 10. 66A-Cody Fletcher[10]

Stutts led the first lap before Schuchart found his way around on lap two and took off to win going away.

B-Main (started) (10 Laps): 1. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[1]; 2. 6-Ryan Smith[4]; 3. 53-Jessie Attard[5]; 4. 33H-Derek Hauck[2]; 5. 17-Dylan Norris[7]; 6. 77-Michael Walter[3] / 7. 67L-Jason Loss[10]; 8. 66A-Cody Fletcher[11]; 9. 90-Jordan Givler[9]; 10. 22M-Matt Miller[8]; 11. 77K-Steven Kisamore[12]; 12. 95-Hunter Mackison[6]; DNS - 17K-Kyle Keen

The 10-lapper took the top six to the A main. Mackison flipped before a lap could be completed. He was uninjured. Wolfe led the distance. The top six were decided early. Attard and Hauck made contact in a battle for third that Attard won on lap two.

A main (started) (30 Laps): 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart[1]; 2. 27-Troy Wagaman Jr[2]; 3. 39M-Anthony Macri[7]; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich[8]; 5. 67-Justin Whittall[4]; 6. 1X-Chad Trout[3]; 7. 12-Lance Dewease[6]; 8. 39-Kody Hartlaub[5]; 9. 11-TJ Stutts[9]; 10. 23-Devon Borden[14]; 11. 1A-Jacob Allen[11]; 12. 8-Freddie Rahmer[10]; 13. 75-Cameron Smith[12]; 14. 8D-Billy Dietrich[17]; 15. 91-Kyle Reinhardt[15]; 16. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[19]; 17. 17-Dylan Norris[23]; 18. 53-Jessie Attard[21]; 19. 27S-Robbie Kendall[16]; 20. 55-Mike Wagner[13]; 21. 99-Skylar Gee[18]; 22. 77-Michael Walter[24]; 23. 6-Ryan Smith[20]; 24. 33H-Derek Hauck[22]

The 30-lapper saw Schuchart take off from the beginning ahead of Wagaman, Whittall, Hartlaub and Trout. Hartlaub sntached third from Whittall on lap two. On lap three, D. Dietrich entered the top five, and on lap six he used the low side to pick off Whittall for fourth. Schuchart was in lapped traffic by lap eight. D. Dietrich entered turn three high and came down the turn four hill to pass Hartlaub for third on lap 13. With ten to go, Macri started rolling forward, going from sixth to fourth in one lap. By then, Schuchart was leading by almost a half lap. The only caution came for Walter with six to go, bunching the field. Schuchart cruised to the win and $10,000, ahead of Wagaman, and Macri, who passed D. Dietrich with four to go. Norris was the hard-charger.